Android App Permissions

 

Effective 1 June 2020

 

When you use the Kanan Park app on Android devices with the latest operating system, we’ll ask you for permission to enable certain features when they require additional information from your device. Below you can find more details about why Kanan Park asks for these permissions and what data is collected. Click on any of the permissions and you'll be directed to Google's official explanation. (If you're an iOS user, please see our iOS App Permissions.)

Please note, older versions of the Android operating system (before Android M) don’t show users these prompts. Instead, users are shown a list of all the permissions an app requests at the time of installation. The permissions listed below include both those that are surfaced as prompts (in the current operating system) as well as those that are listed to users at install time (on older versions of the operating system).

 

Identity

find accounts on the device add or remove accounts read your own contact card

These permissions allow Kanan Park to auto-fill your email address, first name, last name, and phone number from your contact card when you sign up. If you already have a Google Sign-In or Google Wallet account on your device, Kanan Park can also use these permissions to auto-fill your email address and allow you to pay using Google Wallet. Your email address and encrypted Google Wallet payment profile are shared with Kanan Park to send you receipts and obtain payments through Google Wallet.

Contacts

read your contacts

We’ll ask you for this permission to access your contacts if you choose to use certain features such as when you refer a friend to Kanan Park, split a fare, or share your ETA.

If you opt in, the app will be able to access the address book on your phone and display the contacts within the Kanan Park app so you can easily scroll and select the right contact without jumping between apps. Kanan Park will not share your contacts with anyone else or reach out to any of your contacts on your behalf without your permission.

If you choose not to use this permission, you can manually enter contact information anytime you split fares, share an ETA, refer a friend, or use other social features in the app.

 

Location

approximate location (network-based) precise location (GPS- and network-based)

You'll see a request to access your location information when you sign up for Kanan Park. If you opt in, the app will collect and send location data to Kanan Park's servers anytime you're using the app or on a trip. We use location data to find drivers near you and help them navigate to your pickup spot. We also use it to display trip history in your receipts, to understand and resolve support tickets, to troubleshoot and solve software bugs, and generally to customize and improve the location-based services we provide. In addition to your device GPS, we may use other methods to improve the accuracy of this information if Location Services are enabled, including satellite and nearby wifi signals.

If you opt out of the location permission, you can still use Kanan Park by manually entering your pickup address before requesting a ride. Learn more about your location choices in our Help Center article.

 

SMS

receive text messages (SMS) send SMS messages (SMS) read your text messages (SMS or MMS)

When you sign up for Kanan Park, we send a 4-digit verification code, via SMS, to the mobile number that you provide. The “Receive SMS” permission allows the Kanan Park app to look for that incoming SMS message and automatically verify your mobile number. In some regions, our integrations with third party Payment processors require the "Read SMS" permission in order to facilitate two-factor-authentication (2FA). The "Read SMS" permission is only requested when required for these integrations. Only the content of verification and 2FA messages are sent to our servers. The “Send SMS” permission lets you automatically send invites to contacts you choose without leaving the Kanan Park app. It is also used in the 2FA scenario described above. We will never send invites to your contacts without your direction.

 

Phone

directly calls phone numbers

The app requests access to initiate phone calls in the phone app so you can contact your driver with one click within the Kanan Park app.

 

Photos/Media/Files

read the contents of your USB storage modify or delete the contents of your USB storage

The mapping libraries in the app use these permissions to save map data to your phone's storage, like SD cards. By saving map data locally, your phone doesn't need to re-download the same map data every time you use the Kanan Park app.

Microphone

In some regions, riders and drivers can talk to each other within the app, while the driver is en route to the pick-up spot, without relying on the phone app or telephone networks. In these markets, we ask for the microphone permission to enable that feature and it is only used to facilitate rider-driver communication. If you opt out of this permission, you'll still be able to call your driver through your phone using the anonymized number provided in the Kanan Park app.

Camera

take pictures and videos

The Kanan Park app will ask to access your camera when you add a photo to your Kanan Park profile (if you select "Take New" instead of "Choose Existing") or when you scan your credit card and add it to your account. This is faster than entering the number by hand, but you can still choose to do so manually. Kanan Park doesn’t store the image of your credit card. You can still add an existing photo to your user profile by granting access to your Photos.

 

Wi-Fi Connection Information

view Wi-Fi connections

Kanan Park uses this permission to see if a Wi-Fi connection is available, which helps improve the speed and accuracy of data used to display maps in the app.

 

Device ID & Call Information

read phone status and identity

This permission is used with your own contact information to auto-fill your mobile number and country when you sign up for Kanan Park. You can edit this information once your account is created. This permission also includes your Android device ID, which is shared with Kanan Park for fraud prevention.

 

Other

use accounts on the device

This permission creates Google Cloud Messaging (GCM) tokens that Kanan Park uses to send you notifications.

read Google service configuration**

This permission is required by Google Play Services to use Google web-based services (Google Maps API v2 in Kanan Park's case). Google doesn't explicitly provide documentation for this permission, but the above link will refer you to the relevant documentation around using the Google Maps Android API.

modify system settings

Kanan Park uses this permission to improve data used to display maps.

full network access

This permission is required to access the internet, including communicating with Kanan Park's servers, connecting with third-party services, and downloading map data.

control vibration

This permission allows the Kanan Park app to vibrate your phone when something important happens, e.g. when you receive a notification that your driver has arrived.

prevent device from sleeping

This permission wakes up your phone when a notification is received.

use network connections

This permission is used to notify you when a network connection is unavailable.

 

Questions?

For more information about our privacy practices, please review our Privacy Policy.